Monday, April 28, 2014

Blog Tour + Review: I Know Lucy by Melissa Pearl

Hi, this is Elicia here! Today we're one of the tour stops for the I Know Lucy blog tour! Read on for a full review of this book!

Title: I Know Lucy
Author: Melissa Pearl
Publisher: Evatopia Press
Release Date: 20th April 2014
Find on: Goodreads

Quick Review: Lucy Tate is on the run. After witnessing the brutal murder of her parents, she's spent five years in hiding -- taking on different personas and faking her way through life. The authorities can't be trusted, so she remains in the shadows, always one beat ahead of the man who is forever hunting her. That is, until she meets Zach Schultz, a senior at Monte Vista High and the one guy she can’t bear to leave. Suddenly her natural instincts to lie, steal, and run are overshadowed by something else...the desire to stay. It’s her one shot at a normal life.

Curious by nature, Zach is immediately drawn to the new girl at school. How can a person look both confident and vulnerable all in the same moment? Determined to learn more about her, he tries to get close, but is thrown into a world of lies and confusion. The only thing that becomes apparent is that discovering the truth may get him killed.

Detailed Review: Exhilarating. That's how it felt while reading the book. I Know Lucy felt like a roller coaster ride with too many turns and loop-the-loops that it's impossible to not feel sick and throw up at the end. 

I mean it all in a good sense. 

So... What was so good about it? The main aspect of the book which captured me was the characters, especially Lucy. I loved reading her POVs all the time because it revealed so much to me. Lucy is meant to keep her identity  and feelings a secret but through her words, I discovered how she felt at times and her personality and behaviour around different people. Lucy is like a modern-day Katniss, surviving for her family, oppressed by a man who holds great power and putting those she loves at risk.

Zach seemed to be an average boy at first, but as I read on, I could sense his underlying intelligence and perception. He certainly made a great match with Lucy.

When sparks flew between those two... I swear, my heart melted on the spot. I felt like I was Lucy, my heart tethered to this one boy that managed to unravel me in the most unexpected ways. 

The appearance of the other characters were very sudden most of the time. This is what it seemed like to me. It seemed as if Melissa decided to do things the realistic way. I can picture her in my mind saying, 'Let's do things the real way. I'll just go with the flow. I will not stage their appearance; I shall just let them appear when they want to.' 

That, is the beauty of it. 

The story had many interesting twists, but as you know, they always come with the package. So no more comments until you read the book. I'd like to add though, they hit you hard. You'd better get a roll of bandage ready to cover the bumps and bruises you'll get.

The atmosphere in the story was well-written. There was always this element of fear and dread in Lucy's stories. And they're in just the right proportion.

Brief Review: My last words... Read the book. A thriller that will make your pulse race and your mind work should not be missed. Don't miss out on the fun!

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'

Your Reviewer:

A teaser for all of you:

Riley was Dani. I wanted to deny it, but I couldn't, because I knew. In my gut, I knew that Dani had secrets and I had just found a layer I could peel back.
I just wasn't sure if I wanted to.

Our dream cast for I Know Lucy. Josh Hutcherson YUM...


Melissa Pearl was born in Auckland, New Zealand, but has spent much of her life abroad, living in countries such as Jordan, Cyprus and Pakistan... not to mention a nine month road trip around North America with her husband. "Best. Year. Ever!!" She now lives in China with her husband and two sons. She is a trained elementary teacher, but writing is her passion. Since becoming a full time mother she has had the opportunity to pursue this dream and her debut novel hit the internet in November 2011. Since then she has continued to produce a steady stream of books. Recently she signed with Evatopia Press and her first Evatopia book is coming out in February 2014 - True Colors, The Masks Series #1. She is very excited to be trying out new things this year while continuing to publish under her own name as well. She has six books planned for 2014 and is excited about writing each and every one of them.
"I am passionate about writing. It stirs a fire in my soul that I never knew I had. I want to be the best writer I can possibly be and transport my readers into another world where they can laugh, cry and fall in love."

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Blog Tour + Review: Written On Her Heart by Paige Rion

Hey everyone! We're very happy to have participated in the Written On Her Heart blog tour!

Title: Written On Her Heart
Author: Paige Rion
Release Date: 23rd April 2014
Find on: Goodreads

Quick Review: Andi Callaway has dreamed of becoming a published author her entire life. 

Ford Delaney has always wanted nothing more than to escape his past. 

An opportunity of a lifetime. This is what Andi finds when she returns home to Callaway Cove on summer break. A chance to work for her literary idol Ford Delaney is up for grabs, and she’s willing to risk everything—her boyfriend, her best friends, and her education—to get it. 

She’s positive this will be the key to reaching her dreams. But the moment she begins working for the reclusive author, Andi realizes there’s more to him than just a name. As attraction builds between Andi and Ford, she begins to discover consequences must come hand-in-hand with something great—which could loosen control over her tightly wound life. And once romantic sparks fly, Andi’s other relationships start to crumble, Ford’s fame comes back to haunt him, and the heat they generate will either forge a powerful, enduring love or threaten everything she holds dear. 

Detailed Review: I had the honour of beta-reading WOHH for the author. 

No words can describe my admiration for the author after reading Written on Her Heart. 

The story is very simple, but this book proves to be one of those books that are simple yet touching. Also it has got these layers of secrets waiting to be peeled back at each turn of the page. 

WOHH tells a story about a girl who dreams of being a writer and when an opportunity arises that allows her to achieve her dreams, she eagerly takes it, mindless of the consequences or the effects it will have on her life.

Callaway Cove is a very beautiful setting because it just gives this stay-calm vibe that makes the pain and beauty of the story stand out even more. It just brings out the characters and their stories. 

Andi, the main character is very much a control freak. She has got everything planned out for the future. But the sudden job offer brings her future plans to a halt and she has to start from scratch. 

Ford has always found writing as a form of therapy but he never expected it to backfire against him. He goes to Callaway Cove for refuge. And finds unexpected surprises waiting for him, including his assistant Andi. 

The swoon-worthy romance was a winner. It definitely captured my heart. I was surprised by how much it had affected me when I finished the book.

Not to mention the splendid twists I stumbled along the way. It took quite a while for me to finished reading this book because every time I reached a twist, I couldn't read on for fear of what would have happened after that. However, it never took long before I was ready to take on the challenge of reading again. It's almost like overcoming your own fears. I felt so proud of myself after finishing.

Brief Review: When I think of WOHH, I can't help but remember the feelings I experience while reading it. I have no doubt that Paige Rion has crafted a masterpiece that will be admired by many in the future. The subject which this book is focused on will attract the attention of many aspiring writers. It wasn't only Paige's writing skills that impressed me; it was the setting, the characters and the romance that captivated me. 

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'
Displaying image.jpeg


To Andi, who always dreams big,

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams--- Eleanor Roosevelt

Your Reviewer: 

Amazon Kindle:

Amazon Paperback:


Barnes & Noble Nook:


Author Bio
Paige Rion is a contemporary romance author. She’s a mother, wife, blogger, hopeless chocoholic, coffee-addicted, wine-lover. Her debut, novel—a new adult romance—Written On Her Heart, is the first in the Callaway Cove series. The next in the series is to be released this summer. She loves connecting with readers on her blog and social media. 

You can visit her website at

You can also connect with her here:


Win Paige Rion & WOHH Swag!!!

Prize 1
 Paige Rion deluxe tote. Your choice of either Paige Rion/WOHH t-shirt or “Team Ford” t-shirt. WOHH mug with quote. A signed bookmark and a mini Paige Rion candy box!

Prize 2
WOHH t-shirt. WOHH mug with quote. A signed bookmark and mini Paige Rion candy box!

Prize 3
 An exclusive WOHH iPhone 4 case. A white mug with genuine Paige Rion signature. Signed bookmark and mini Paige Rion candy box. (If winner does not have an iPhone 4, they will receive prize 4 and another winner will be drawn).

Prize 4
 10 more winners will receive a signed bookmark and a mini Paige Rion candy box!

Due to shipping costs, US ENTRIES ONLY.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, April 5, 2014

ARC Review: The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu

16068341Title: The Truth About Alice
Author: Jennifer Mathieu
Release Date: 3rd June 2014
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Find on: Goodreads

Quick ReviewEveryone has a lot to say about Alice Franklin, and it’s stopped mattering whether it’s true. The rumors started at a party when Alice supposedly had sex with two guys in one night. When school starts everyone almost forgets about Alice until one of those guys, super-popular Brandon, dies in a car wreck that was allegedly all Alice’s fault. Now the only friend she has is a boy who may be the only other person who knows the truth, but is too afraid to admit it. Told from the perspectives of popular girl Elaine, football star Josh, former outcast Kelsie, and shy genius Kurt, we see how everyone has a motive to bring – and keep – Alice down.

Detailed Review: Whenever I approach a contemporary, it's usually with a sense of fear and curiosity. Why? Usually I find some books that are really very hard to connect with because the characters seem too perfect and the setting is simply too unbelievable (no high school, just a beach? What do the kids do these days?)

The Truth About Alice, was not one of these books. Instead, it relates with high school life very easily, making it so much easier to imagine the story in my head. The setting was a great setting, because it somehow set the boundaries for how far the stories would go.

Another good thing about it was that it was written from 4 perspectives about the main character, rather than letting Alice herself be the voice of the story. This makes it even more intriguing because you see the main character through the perspectives of four very different people with different intentions:

Kelsie: She used to be Alice's best friend, until the rumors started. She just stopped hanging out with Alice anymore, for fear that if she did, she'd become what she used to be: a friendless dork. 

Elaine: She's on the top rung of the popularity ladder. She sets trends for people to follow and everybody worships her. She may not hate Alice but she sure as hell doesn't like her either.

Josh: Brandon's best friend. Football player. Hot and popular. But he does have one secret that could change people's perceptions about Alice in a minute.

Kurt: He's had a crush with Alice since the first time he saw her. And he also possesses one secret that could change everything and possibly tear apart his friendship with the used-to-be-friendless Alice.

All four of these characters have the power to change Alice's life. This is what hit me the hardest. They are like determinants in Alice's life. What they do, what they say, dictate Alice's life. And this led me to think, doesn't this apply in real life too?

Yes it does. 

The Truth About Alice describes high school perfectly. It reminds us that these things actually happen or have happened.

There was one thing I dislike. The lack of swoon-worthy romance. But I think Jennifer probably thought, "Alright, I'm not gonna put in much romance in it, we still need to stay focused on Alice, not some love story." So I'll probably let this go for this book.

Brief Review: Jennifer's use of four different perspectives give us much more insight than Alice could have given about herself. Not only is it intriguing, it shows awareness of the other characters and also lets us know more about them through what they say about Alice. The Truth About Alice highlights high school life in its ugliest and prettiest: the price of popularity, the leaving of fake friends, and the discovering of real friends. This book does not make out high school to be what it seems to be, and this will be what pulls most readers in; the truth will draw you in. Overall, a truly positive debut to Jennifer's writing career!

Final Rating: 4.5/5 'Really Liked It!'


To everyone in the world, who believe the lies so easily

The first time someone shows you who they are, believe them.- Maya Angelou

Your Reviewer: