Monday, July 7, 2014

ARC Review: Killer Instinct by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Title: Killer Instinct (The Naturals #2)
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Release Date: 4th November 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Find on: Goodreads

Quick ReviewSeventeen-year-old Cassie Hobbes has a gift for profiling people. Her talent has landed her a spot in an elite FBI program for teens with innate crime-solving abilities, and into some harrowing situations. After barely escaping a confrontation with an unbalanced killer obsessed with her mother’s murder, Cassie hopes she and the rest of the team can stick to solving cold cases from a distance.

But when victims of a brutal new serial killer start turning up, the Naturals are pulled into an active case that strikes too close to home: the killer is a perfect copycat of Dean’s incarcerated father—a man he’d do anything to forget. Forced deeper into a murderer’s psyche than ever before, will the Naturals be able to outsmart the enigmatic killer’s brutal mind games before this copycat twists them into his web for good?

With her trademark wit, brilliant plotting, and twists that no one will see coming, Jennifer Lynn Barnes will keep readers on the edge of their seats (and looking over their shoulders) as they race through the pages of this thrilling novel.


Detailed Review: <<I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review>>

What can I say? I didn't see THAT coming. 

Killer Instinct was just as good as the first book, The Naturals. It had just as much action, suspense, mystery and romance.

And plot twists.

Let me explain. 

There are lots of these: including the identity of the serial killer, Dean's past, Agent Locke's replacement, etc... Get ready for a few towards the end. They come without warning. 

One of the characters who I thought was a work of art was Agent Sterling. She's reserved and calm on the outside; on the inside, she's impulsive and caring. Based on Cassie's profiling of her, she is a complicated character indeed. She's very deeply involved with Dean and his father (you'll find out why in the book) and actually cares for the adolescents in the Naturals program more than she lets on.

Dean reminds me of Will from TID. Why? He pushes everyone away when they get close, to protect them. He's selfless and caring. He cares for Cassie more than he really lets on.

Once again, Cassie is the brave heroine and the main character in the story. She's intelligent, kind, and is really good when it comes to empathy. In the end she was the one who saved many lives from getting lost. I don't think I've loved her as much as in this book.

Michael and Lia were great if you wanted to find some humour to ease the tension in the book. Sloane's spurting of random facts definitely help too.

Once again, the alternating points of view between Cassie and the UNSUB also helps to create suspense in the book. It somehow discloses the identity of the killer but also it hides him, if that even makes sense. 

The story itself is also a masterpiece- one painted with vibrant colours and perfection. It was as good as it could be.

I really really hope that there is another book in this series, since I really haven't had much of a taste of romance yet. I can't wait to see how it develops further, if there really is a third book! I'm definitely Team Dean!!!

Brief Review: Expect yourself to read this book in one sitting. So many things came into play to make the awesomeness that was Killer Instinct: the tension that was omnipresent, the rich characters, the plot twists and the story. This book would be perfect for fans of Criminal Minds and those who delight in wracking their brains to solve a really complex mystery!!!

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing!'












QUOTE:

I found this to be a very good quote when it came to people's views of Dean:

There are very few monsters who warrant the fear we have of them--- Andre Gide


Your Reviewer: