Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Review: The First by Sara Zaske

Title: The First
Author: Sara Zaske
Publisher: Sara Zaske
Release Date: 21st April 2012
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads, Smashwords

Quick Review: Cassie Craig is not the chosen one. Not even close.

She's just an ordinary, 15-year-old California girl with a few problems. She talks too much. She has a crush on a guy in her school. She worries about her dad who is a Marine in Afghanistan.

Then, there's her new friend, Violet Starkey. The weirdest girl in school, Violet comes from a group of magical people who claim to be the first on earth.

When Cassie discovers that Violet has powers over nature, she will do anything to be her friend--all for the chance Violet might help bring her dad home.

But Cassie isn't the only one who wants Violet's powers, and she soon finds out just how dangerous it is to be the true friend of one of the most powerful magical beings in the world.

Detailed Review: This book was special in a way which I haven't seen in ages. Not only is it different, it is creative and original.

At first glance, Cassie Craig is what you would call normal. She has a busy mother who always has to take care her younger sister, Drew. Her father is in war in the middle of Afghanistan. 

But in one day, everything can change. 

All thanks to Violet Starkey. She's not what you'd call normal. She is weird, as in she doesn't talk at all, she wears the wrong clothes, she doesn't even try to fit in. 

How did Cassie even become friends with her? Cassie, the best friend of a popular girl would never have dreamed of befriending Violet, not even if she was given a million dollars.

So why? Well, it goes like this. A volleyball match in school. Violet get hits in the face by the ball. She doesn't even fall. Cassie saw Violet's shoes, which had something underneath that stuck to the ground. 

They're roots. 

Don't believe me? Read on. 

After that, Cassie's curiosity forces her to abandon her friendship and everything she's ever believed in. Because what she is about to know is something impossible. 

Violet comes from a group or SPECIES called the First People. Like their name suggests, they are the first people to ever exist on Earth. They are closer to nature. When Cassie visits Violet's house, she knew then that they were real for certain after Violet demonstrated her powers to her. 

Not without igniting any plan in Cassie's head. She wants her new friend to stop the war her father is fighting with her powers. Make it snow or rain, anything.

But soon, Violet and Cassie find themselves in the middle of plot to destroy America, planned by Violet's grandfather so they could regain what was lost to them many centuries before. Violet's powers are more powerful than any of the First People, that's why she's essential. Cassie is just tagging along, though she doesn't like the idea of her home being destroyed.

But left without any other choice, Violet is forced to do it. 

Here's another fact about the First People:
When they are born, their souls are bound to an object of nature, such as a tree or an animal. 

In the end, Violet is forced to sacrifice her powers to prevent the same thing from happening anymore. 

Brief Review: Unusual and original, this story moved me in a different way than most YA books usually do. A great debut for the author.

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing'

Your Reviewer: 

Season's Readings - Halloween

Season's Readings is a seasonly event held by us, which highlights the top 10 books that are must-reads for special festivals! This season's readings are starters for Halloween! 

So here you are...


Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake

The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

Lockdown (Escape From The Furnace) by Alexander Gordon Smith

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

The Possession of Cassie Quinn by Kathryn Knutson

White Crow by Marcus Sedgwick 

Dark Eden by Patrick Carman

Long Lankin by Lindsey Barraclough

~ The End ~

Happy Halloween! 

Friday, October 26, 2012

TGIF - Feature and Follow Friday #120

FEATURE & FOLLOW FRIDAY is a blog hop that is designed to provide as much exposure towards other bloggers as well as yourself, and to expand following. It's hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, each whom feature a chosen blog for a week, it's also an interesting way to get to know one another bloggers.

What writing device or trick most irritates you when you read a book? For example, if an author employs an omnipotent narrator that is sometimes considered a bad form. 

Annoying characters. That's one of things I hate about some of the books I've read so far. You get heroes or heroines that are deeply frustrating and always in need of help even though they're the main protagonist of the story! Well I'm not pointing fingers or anything, but some books are really obvious... 

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Review: Fateful by Claudia Gray

Title: Fateful
Author: Claudia Gray
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Release Date: 29th March 2012
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

Quick Review: A tragic tale about falling in love on the world’s most infamous ill-fated sea voyage as heroine, Tess, discovers darker secrets that lie beneath the doomed crossing… and a hidden brotherhood that threaten to tear her lover from her forever.

The RMS Titanic is the most luxurious ship ever built, but for eighteen-year-old Tess Davies it’s a prison. Travelling as a maid for the family she has served for years, Tess is trapped in their employ amid painful memories and family secrets.

When she meets Alec, a handsome upper class passenger, Tess falls helplessly in love. But Alec has secrets of his own… and soon Tess is entangled in a dangerous game. A sinister brotherhood that will do anything to induct Alec into their mystical order has followed him onboard. And Tess is now their most powerful pawn.

Tess and Alec fight the dark forces threatening to tear them apart, never realising that they will have to face an even greater peril before the journey is over…

New York Times best-selling author Claudia Gray delivers adventure, dark paranormal suspense, alluring romance, and a truly surprise ending, set against the opulent backdrop of the Titanic's first — and last — voyage.

Detailed Review: This book sure caught me off by surprise. The description certainly didn't say anything about werewolves. Oops. First spoiler.

This story is about a wealthy family's hand maiden that has dream of escaping to America. When her employees decide to go to America, her dream has started.

But before the voyage even started, things start to go wrong. 

One night, she stumbles upon a group of men, which includes one man who accuses Tess of eavesdropping on their conversation. This was because Tess had been standing behind the group though she wasn't even paying any attention to them.

Then, another mysterious young man seemed to creep up on her in a dark place and protects her from a wolf, or more precisely a werewolf.

Things become to get interesting though after she boards the RMS Titanic and meets the two same men she had met the other night. 

Little does she know the trouble she's in. First, there's something in the box that Tess was carrying and it turns out to be a blade, which one of the men want. Next, the other man, who's introduced as Alexander Marlowe, the son of a wealthy businessman, who Tess finds herself affected by has a secret.

The secret is simple and scary: He's a werewolf.

Meanwhile the other man, known as Mikhail desperately tries to find ways to get to the box, including hitting Tess. Others include threatening the ones she love. But that's not his only aim.

He want to kill her for sport.

The romance between Alec and Tess has started delevoping a romance that is slowly becoming deeper with each day in the Titanic. Tess has go through countless obstacles to reach into Alec's mind and free him from the torture he's endured for three years. 

But the end has been waiting for them. Just when things couldn't get any more serious, the Titanic sinks.

With Alec and Mikhail in it, along with the family that Tess was serving for. Tess gets rescued.

Though with one exception. 

After a few days, where Tess has ended up in America, she hears news of bodies being found from the Titanic and goes to check them out. 

She finds Mikhail there. And he's alive. Thought that must mean...

Alec is alive. 

In the end what happens is Mikhail's death and Alec and Tessa's reunion.

And they lived a happily ever after! (Maybe, I'm not sure)

Brief Review: This book completely mesmerized me. I enjoyed the backdrop the story was set in, which was something I've seldom seen authors done before. The cover looks completely spooky! Well done to the author!

Final Rating: 4/5 'Really Liked It'

Your Reviewer: 

Waiting on Wednesday: Taken by Erin Bowman

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by us, that highlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:

Title: Taken
Author: Erin Bowman
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: 16th April 2013
Find on: Goodreads, Amazon

There are no men in Claysoot. There are boys—but every one of them vanishes at midnight on his eighteenth birthday. The ground shakes, the wind howls, a blinding light descends...and he’s gone.

They call it the Heist.

Gray Weathersby’s eighteenth birthday is mere months away, and he’s prepared to meet his fate–until he finds a strange note from his mother and starts to question everything he’s been raised to accept: the Council leaders and their obvious secrets. The Heist itself. And what lies beyond the Wall that surrounds Claysoot–a structure that no one can cross and survive. 

Climbing the Wall is suicide, but what comes after the Heist could be worse. Should he sit back and wait to be taken–or risk everything on the hope of the other side?

This is my first debut author pick for this event and I must say that I can't wait for it to come out. I mean, look at that cover, it looks so creepy. Th boy is definitely Gray. And the description itself is enough to make us feel on edge. Actually, I feel pretty much like that for every YA book that's coming out. So yeah. Lol. :)

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Review: The Last Witch by Debbie Dee

Title: The Last Witch
Author: Debbie Dee
Publisher: Dolce Books
Release Date: 12th September 2012
Find on: Goodreads, Amazon

Quick Review: For generations the Incenaga Witches have been forced to use their power to fulfill the wishes of others until they are drained of their magic and left to die. Desperate to protect his infant daughter - the last surviving witch - Emmeline’s father escapes with her to the forests where he vows to keep her hidden from the world and from the truth. 

Sixteen years later, Emmeline is discovered and finds herself in the grip of a traitor who will stop at nothing to get what he wants, even if it means abusing her power until she dies. As she fights to regain her freedom she is faced with a choice between a prince who offers a lifetime of security and a common gamekeeper who has no idea of her power, but offers his heart. 

But who can she trust when her power can be used against her?

Detailed Review:  I honestly liked the storyline, truly liked it because it was just too good to stay away from. I love the cover, which is especially lovely!

The story starts with Emmeline Durandi complaining that she's bored and lonely but then she hears a sound from outside her isolated house in Pamizak. It's the thunder of horses' hooves. Her father, who had been with her, immediately goes into a frenzy and starts packing things, which astonishes Emmeline because why would he do that if there were visitors coming?

Unless they weren't.

It appears that it is also a group of King's men from Dolmerti that have come to fetch their princess-to-be back to where their Crown Prince was waiting to marry her. But it turns out that he has gone on a trip and won't be back for a week or two.

It turns out that her father had signed a betrothal agreement which already decided Emmeline's fate for her. Also, her father was the king of Pamizak. Unbelievable.

When Emmeline is brought back to Dolmerti against her will, she starts to discover a plot to start a war between the two countries that she is in between in. She herself as a witch finds herself powerless as a man repeatedly tries to be her master. Being the last of the Incenagas, she wasn't going to let herself be enslaved until her power is used so she resists, though not without suffering for it.

How do you own an Incenaga witch anyways? 

Answer is you have to be brave enough to stare into the witch's eyes when it holds the light of a thousand lights. If you can do that, she's all yours. 

In one of Emmeline's adventures, she meets a handsome gamekeeper, Erick who she finds herself at ease with because of his crooked smile and his never-ending humor. Their relationship starts to develop into something more, more than they could ever imagine...

Meanwhile, she also meets Prince Weldon, the Crown Prince's younger brother, and finds him in desperately in love with her, which she couldn't accept. Not without being disgusted and confused by it.

But meetings with the King also manages to lighten up her moods since he's probably the smartest King I've ever known. Not to mention the humor and optimism he possesses despite his blindness.

Now to shock you out of your seat, Prince Weldon has turned out to be the traitor, the person who has been planning to start a war between Dolmerti and Pamizak, not Mahlon, the King's most trusted knight. 

The plot involves Emmeline murdering the Crown Prince on their wedding night, which would certainly cause an outburst in Dolmerti. And even Emmeline herself can't say no, since she's already lost her own battle with the person who's trying to own her. 

But one person she could never imagine saves her from what she has to do. Erick. You wouldn't believe this if I tell you now but I won't keep the truth from you longer.


I'm sure your mouths should be open with shock now. But I'll excuse that. So yeah... Emmeline ends up getting married to the person she loves. Happily ever after. There's going to be a sequel though... So I just can't wait to see how her fate will turn out after she's married!

Best witch's book ever!

Brief Review: The plot was good and I liked the setting. The boring parts, which were actually quite rare, were excusable after I read some good parts of the book. Some descriptions were quite vivid and they easily got stuck in my mind. The cover though, was what got me drooling the most!

Final Rating: 4/5 'Really Liked It'

Your Reviewer: 

Saturday, October 20, 2012

An Interview with Lauren Oliver

We couldn't go without interviewing the bestselling author of the Delirium trilogy and Before I Fall after reading several of her books! So guess what? We e-mailed her out of the blue and here we are! We are thrilled to interview Lauren Oliver and now for some Q&A.

US: Where do you get your ideas on the Delirium trilogy? From a movie? Imagination? Or from a song?

Lauren: The idea for the Delirium trilogy came from an essay by Gabriel Barcia Marquez, where he says that all stories were either about love or death. Since my first book, Before I Fall, was about death. I wanted to write a book about love. 

US: We notice you like to use the sense of imagery in the Delirium trilogy. How do you interpret this?

Lauren: I try to pay attention to my surroundings at all times. I take as much as I can, because you never know where inspiration is going to come from! 

US: Who has supported you throughout the book besides your fans, readers and editors, who was the most supportive of all?

Lauren: My family has been very supportive - my parents and my sister. 

US: Do you think the love triangle between Lena, Alex and Julian is something that you originally created from the start of the book? If so, was it difficult to link them together at the end of Pandemonium?

Lauren: Julian wasn't in my mind when I wrote Delirium, but writing him into the story, and bringing Alex back at the end of Pandemonium, felt very organic. 

US: We can't wait till Requiem comes out! Could you give us a sneak peek or perhaps a teaser? That will definitely make the readers very, very happy... :)

Lauren: Nope! I'm keeping my mouth shut tight on this one! 

US: Why did you choose Hana in Delirium for Requiem as one of the main protagonist and having her own point of view?

Lauren: I felt like I wanted to spend some time with her, in her head. I think she offers a very different viewpoint then Lena does, but a very complementary one. 

US: If you ever wanted to be a character in your story, who would that character be? And, why?

Lauren: I think I would like to be Liza in my new book The Spindlers. She's a tough girl who goes on magical adventures! 

US: We've heard about the rumours for Delirium as a movie. Are they true and what theme song would you choose for it?

Lauren: They are true! As for the theme song... I have no idea! 

US: Will there be a prequel? If there were, we would love to know!

Lauren: Not as of right now...but never say never! 

US: If you could, would you do a book tour in Malaysia (that's where we live!)? If you ever did come, we'd love to be your tour hosts!

Lauren: I'd love to! I want to go everywhere! 

You can find her at: 

Her Website

Including her e-mail:

Friday, October 19, 2012

TGIF - Feature and Follow Friday #119

FEATURE & FOLLOW FRIDAY is a blog hop that is designed to provide as much exposure towards other bloggers as well as yourself, and to expand following. It's hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, each whom feature a chosen blog for a week, it's also an interesting way to get to know one another bloggers.

When you step out of your USUAL genre what do you like to read? Best books in that genre? 

Well, I've been thinking's usually the genre that I like to read when I don't read is, non-fiction. The best book for me in that specific genre is The Diary of A Young Girl by Anne Frank. I thought it was quite interesting due to the fact that it's written by this young girl during World War 2. It's a good read :)

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday: Boundless by Cynthia Hand

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by us, that highlights upcoming books that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication 'can't-wait-to-read' selection is:

Title: Boundless
Author: Cynthia Hand
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: 22nd January 2013
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

The past few years have held more surprises than part-angel Clara Gardner could ever have anticipated. Yet from the dizzying highs of first love, to the agonizing low of losing someone close to her, the one thing she can no longer deny is that she was never meant to live a normal life.

Since discovering the special role she plays among the other angel-bloods, Clara has been determined to protect Tucker Avery from the evil that follows her . . . even if it means breaking both their hearts. Leaving town seems like the best option, so she’s headed back to California - and so is Christian Prescott, the irresistible boy from the vision that started her on this journey in the first place.

As Clara makes her way in a world that is frighteningly new, she discovers that the fallen angel who attacked her is watching her every move. And he’s not the only one. . . . With the battle against the Black Wings looming, Clara knows she must finally fulfil her destiny. But it won’t come without sacrifices and betrayal.

In the riveting finale of the Unearthly series, Clara must decide her fate once and for all.

Oh my GOD!!! I just read the first two books and so far it's awesome.It's also natural that I would want to read the last book in the trilogy. I purposely chose the Australian cover because it looks way more BEAUTIFUL than the other cover. After I read Hallowed, I really thought it was THE END. But there's another book coming. Yay!!! Don't ignore it!! The cover is enough to make you cry with joy.

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Review: Insignia by S.J. Kincaid

Title: Insignia
Author: S.J. Kincaid
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: July 10th 2012
Find on: AmazonGoodreads

Quick Review: More than anything, Tom Raines wants to be important, though his shadowy life is anything but that. For years, Tom's drifted from casino to casino with his unlucky gambler of a dad, gaming for their survival. Keeping a roof over their heads depends on a careful combination of skill, luck, con artistry, and staying invisible.

Then one day, Tom stops being invisible. Someone's been watching his virtual-reality prowess, and he's offered the incredible--a place at the Pentagonal Spire, an elite military academy. There, Tom's instincts for combat will be put to the test and if he passes, he'll become a member of the Intrasolar Forces, helping to lead his country to victory in World War III. Finally, he'll be someone important: a superhuman war machine with the tech skills that every virtual-reality warrior dreams of. Life at the Spire holds everything that Tom's always wanted--friends, the possibility of a girlfriend, and a life where his every action matters--but what will it cost him?

Gripping and provocative, S. J. Kincaid's futuristic thrill ride of a debut crackles with memorable characters, tremendous wit, and a vision of the future that asks startling, timely questions about the melding of humanity and technology.

Detailed Review: I couldn't believe my eyes when I read the book. It was entirely sci-fi, interesting and absolutely out this world (literally). It was something that I had never expected. Like the blurb above, I mean 'fighting in space?' The story was very fluid and easy to understand which makes this a good read. 

At the start, it's quite boring but don't stop until you've got a taste of the sci-fi action because they'll be wayyyy more things you'll wanna find out before you close that book! The story opens to a boy of fourteen called Tom. He's a boy who loves playing games and is interestingly good at them. The games are completely virtual so it's like you're actually part of the game. We find out that Tom is supposedly ugly, pimply and short. During this, he still has to go to school, virtually. You can even choose an avatar to log in. But Tom chose himself as an avatar. 

I had an absolutely fun time reading this book. We start to learn about other characters whom he meets. They're entirely and yet overly fun. Tom gets recruited by a commander who has decided that Tom can be cruel when he wants to be. After recruiting Tom, he gets a taste of Insignia. An army that fights in space virtually, implants microchips into brains, improves looks and heights, makes your brain calculate faster than normal. Now, who wants to be normal? 

The story is during World War Three! Where the military recruits teenagers to serve as soldiers because of the implanted device in their heads. Why? Because if one of these microchips gets implanted in an adult's brain, it gets fried and corrupted.  

*If you're an adult over eighteen, please do not try this at home.* (joking

'"Do you want to be somebody important?"
And there it was. 
There it was. 
Tom leaned back in his seat and tipped his drink to Heather-and the man who had just won this match. 
Because, more than anything, Tom wanted to do something. Something other than move from casino to casino, something other than turn into his dad. 
He'd give anything to be important.'

Now, we learn about the real Tom and what he really wants. 

Then we learn about things like training and the brain. I thought the storyline was hilarious and awesome where space and time possibly existed on Earth so frequently. Tom learns about his abilities to fry people with electricity, break down satellites and connect with an electronic device. He learns about his new enemy. A girl behind the name of Medusa. She's supposedly the world's most powerful and influential enemy yet-no one's seen her face. Except the avatar she hides behind. 

Tom gets obsessed with the idea of a girl being more powerful than anyone at Insignia. He later contacts her and fights with her. At the same, falls in love with her! They train together and learn about more things that shouldn't have told each other.  

What can he say? He wanted to be important... - whoops very important spoiler that I can't say. I guess you'll have to buy the book to find out. 

 I think the story was actually quite impressive and quite different in many ways. S. J. Kincaid has captured the essence of a sci-fi, thriller series. The next book would be worth the read and I'll be looking forward to it being on my shelf.

Brief Review: 'Been wowed by the presence of a sci-fi-thriller, S. J. Kincaid has made and developed an easy, smooth storyline that produces a world that you can never have imagined. Insignia is full of action that will leave you wanting for MORE!'

My Rating: 4/5  'Really Liked It!'

Your Reviewer: 

Saturday, October 13, 2012

Review: The Secret Life of Copernicus H. Stringfellow: Surreptitious Superhero

Title: The Secret Life of Copernicus H. Stringfellow: Surreptitious           Superhero
Author: Lorin K. Barber
Publisher: Sweetwater Books
Release Date: 13th March 2012
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

Quick Review: Copernicus H. Stringfellow, a.k.a. Nick, is not your run-of-the-mill genius. His mind is so powerful it can stop a speeding automobile or stem internal bleeding. As Nick goes about quietly doing good, he discovers that his powers are greatly enhanced by the nutrients present in Twinkies. Follow Nick on his amazing adventures in this humorous and exciting action-packed book for all ages.

*specially sent from the author himself*

Detailed Review: After I read the first chapter, I actually thought it was pretty cool. I liked the twists and turns that this novel had.

First off, who's this person called Copernicus H. Stringfellow? He's a genius, though not an ordinary one since he can actually control things with his mind due to his super concentration levels. He can walk through anything after a recent discovery. He's rich, after he invented Rougaine, Botox, and the Ipod for his beloved family. His mother died when he was only 2 years old and his father disappeared after he murdered his wife, leaving him with his aunt and uncle with their two older children. He could start speaking full sentences when he was only six months old. He started college when he was eleven and has over 17 PhDs. Isn't it amazing?

The story shows how people's lives were transformed after working for him when he bought a run-down house in Seattle. Also, the friends who are devoted to Nick are slowly going through a change they never expected.

Meanwhile, two men in black suits in a sedan has been watching Nick ever since they saw him move things without touching them. Turns out they from DARPA, which stands for Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency.

Dr. Prescilla Spurbeck is infuriated by Nick in a way which she doesn't like. What with his status 'nurse at large' and always wandering around the hospital rooms eating Twinkies. When she starts to research about him, she didn't believe what she'd found (me too). 

In the end, what happens is a romance between Nick and Press that they never imagine would ever happen.

Not to mention a series of kidnappings that have been implemented by Dr. Cyril Veshkov, Press's ex-boyfriend, for God knows what reason.

It would be so cool if this book was made into a movie! The stories woven together made it a splendid book!

Brief Review: Nick's Science and English is enough to make people gape. If I could be just like him... This book was good with some amazing and unbelievable parts in there.

Final Rating: 4/5 'Really Liked It'

Your Reviewer: 

Friday, October 12, 2012

TGIF - Feature and Follow Friday #118

FEATURE & FOLLOW FRIDAY is a blog hop that is designed to provide as much exposure towards other bloggers as well as yourself, and to expand following. It's hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, each whom feature a chosen blog for a week, it's also an interesting way to get to know one another bloggers.

What do you think will make a great Halloween movie? Please explain in graphic detail of goriness...

Shockingly I picked Anna Dressed in Blood. Well, there are certain scenes like... tearing apart people's body, blood bodies piled on each other, sickening flesh rotting, disembowelling of others like pulling people through glass windows and clawing them into half. I mean, into half?!? 

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Review: Chronicles of Myriad: Quest for the Oracle

Title: Chronicles of Myriad: Quest for the Oracle
Author: James Nicholas Adams
Publisher: PublishAmerica
Release Date: 8th September 2011
Find on: Amazon, Goodreads

Quick Review: Eight years after watching his best friend Kristine disappear, Jason embarks on a journey to find her. While exploring the Keash caves he frequented as a child, he falls and hits his head, rendered unconscious. He awakens to find himself chained up in a cage on a world unlike anything he has ever known and only an arm's length away from Kristine.The reunion is short lived as a sudden dragon attack on their captors causes them to once again become separated. Shortly after, he meets the Prophet Tanas who takes him to meet Jerech, an Elvish king and Jason's birth father. Here, he learns Kristine is in the hands of a nameless tyrant and embarks on a quest to free her. Along the way he discovers there is far more to the reason he is here than he thought, and he has a destiny beyond anything he ever imagined.

Detailed Review: I was honestly blown away by this book. This was BREATHTAKING. It's short but it's good. Yep, that says it all.

This story starts with a prophecy showing the Angels' and Dragons' relationship, which was really bad because of the Angels' betrayal. The Dragons were enslaved to build a city for Naiev, the Angel's dying mother. But one day, the Dragons' prince, Kaeltith, was visited by the Dark Lord, who promised them that revenge would be taken for the Dragons. With the Dark Lord's help, the Dragons' evolved into the Daedra, who could turn into humans and back into their dragon forms whenever they wanted. With this transformation, they managed to escape the Angels' city.

After a while, when all the Daedra were recovered from their ordeal in their land, they planned to invade the Angels' city of Ojai, which they did, leaving the city in ruins and many killed. The next in line to the throne, Aris, Ojai's grandson, had prepared an army to fight off the Daedra but after years of the their absence, the army was disbanded. A fight soon started with Kaeltith and Aris while the city was being destroyed by the Daedras' hands. But Aris still died in the end. There was one fact though that kept me happy after reading the prophecy. Aris had a child with a barmaid, Liza, who he asked her to take and hide among the humans.

This was the dream that was dreamt by Tanas, a prophet in Myrinas. 

The story then turns to Jason England, a boy who had been left on the doorstep of Carolyn and Dan England's home with a note asking the couple to keep the boy safe.

It is Jason's eighteenth birthday when his adoptive parents decided he was old enough to know the real truth about his bloodline. 

Want to know who actually was Jason's parents? Read on.

A girl, Kristine Simmons, who used to be Jason's best friend has disappeared after they explored the Keash caves in Ireland. It's been eight years since this happened. 

Jason starts to go on an adventure on his own to find Kristine and he stumbles upon many obstacles which seemed surreal to him, but the one which proved strangest was his parents.

He's the son of the King of the Elves, Jerech and Aris's daughter, Akarah.

As his adventure continues, he uncovers a destiny that he has to take, with two choices, death or to pull away everything he's been through, which was unlikely because he was so close to Kristine.

The Dark Lord is planning to take over the whole of Myriad. And he has armies to aid him. Jason has to lead his own army to fight back. Besides, he already died once ( yes he did ). 

Only Jason can stop the disaster that is already brewing in the city of Myrinas, where the Dark Lord has taken over. And the Oracle, Saedin, Kristine, has to help him with her unfailing love for him.

This storyline got me wanting for more, especially the epilogue! 

There must be a sequel! There MUST! I'm going to beg the author to write one!

*There's going to be a signing for this book by the author in Salt Lake City this Saturday, October 13th!

Brief Review: This book was direct but it caught most of my attention. No boring parts, just fast-paced all the way! I especially loved the author's narrative writing!

Final Rating: 5/5 'Totally Amazing'

Your Reviewer: